Wastewater Committee

Our charge

The Wolcott Select Board authorized the establishment of the Wolcott Village Wastewater Committee in 2020. The Committee was tasked in spearheading an effort to determine the feasibility, and if appropriate, oversee the implementation, of a community septic system. Committee members include Wolcott residents, two select board members, staff from the Lamoille Regional Planning Commission, and sub-contracted scientists and engineers.

Why Wolcott Wastewater?

The village community septic system is needed due to poor soils within the village, such as hydric (wetlands) soils, shallow depth to bedrock, and proximity to the Lamoille River and flooding potential.

A large portion of the village was significantly flooded in the July 2023 storm. Many of the existing systems are at the end of their service lives and built before the VT Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) wastewater permit was in place. The new system would allow existing businesses to expand, attract new businesses, build the grand list, and increase housing opportunities for the town.

A Preliminary Engineering Report (PER) has been completed by Stone Environmental. The Wolcott Elementary School property has been identified in the PER as the best site for the community system to be located due to its sandy soils. The system would include all of Wolcott Village in its service area.

Mitigating cost

The Committee is working closely with VT DEC, which will oversee the permitting of system. To date, the Committee has secured $2.75 million dollars of grant funding for the survey, design, permitting, and construction of the system. The Committee has applied for an additional $800,0000 grant to lessen the funding gap.

There was a School Vote on June 4, 2024 and a Town Vote on June 11, 2024—both passed.

In the news

Roundtable on Wastewater Project March 12, 2024


  • Jim Ryan—Committee Chair (resident)
  • Bruce Wheeler—(resident)
  • Tricia Follert—(resident)
  • Maxfield English—(Wolcott Planning Commission Representative and resident)

Selectboard Members

  • Linda Martin—Chair
  • Allen Carpenter

Organization representatives

  • Seth Jensen—Lamoille Regional Planning Commission (LCPC)
  • Victoria Hellwig—LCPC
  • Peter Lazorchak—Stone Environmental
  • Amy Macrellis—Stone Environmental
  • JB Hinds—Birchline Planning
  • Lynnette Claudon—VT Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC)
  • Emily Hackett—VT DEC

Upcoming events

Annual Report

Town Meetings